The Kneighborhood Annex

professional blog of a teacher, future administrato, writer, learner, motivator, inspirerororor

What Gets Rewarded Gets Done…Really?

Leave a comment

This is a saying that I’ve seen or heard in a couple places in the past two weeks.  What gets rewarded gets done.  Unfortunately, this might ring true.  But, I’ll have to say…what gets rewarded gets done poorly.

Look at it as a teacher rewarding students for doing something…anything.  Completing their homework, staying quiet in the hallways, being respectful in any situation, the list goes on.  These are actions that are expected of them…why would you reward them for something they are supposed to do.  It reminds me of a Chris Rock joke…”I ain’t never been to jail!” What do you want, a cookie?! You’re not supposed to go to jail.”  Of course I’ve taken out any potty-mouth words.

Now look at it as an administrator rewarding their faculty for doing something.  This is adults we’re talking about that might expect a reward for doing something they are supposed to be doing.  I find it to be a bad situation if your administrator is bribing you to do your work.  Just do it like you’re supposed to do.

I feel it all comes down to motivation.  Everyone likes to feel motivated…right? If you have the right person motivating you, you’ll do anything for that person.  Take Hitler…he motivated thousands of people to follow him and he was asking them to complete horrible tasks.  Yet, he was a great speaker and motivator.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying Hitler should be a keynote speaker for anything, but he did possess that quality of motivating people.

When people are motivated, the activity they are completing will be more rewarding and fulfilling for them.  When I’m motivated, I feel a sense of accomplishment.  It feels good.  Eventhough most kids wouldn’t admit to it, they must feel a sense of accomplishment when they study really hard for a test and ace it.

Instead of rewarding someone for doing what they are supposed to be doing, lets motivate that person and make them understand that the reward is how you feel when you are finished.

What Gets Rewarded Gets Done….NO…What IS REWARDING Gets Done.

Author: GraKneeToe

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Leave a Reply

