The Kneighborhood Annex

professional blog of a teacher, future administrato, writer, learner, motivator, inspirerororor

What Would Dan Meyer Do?

Leave a comment

Ever since my colleague introduced me to Mr. Meyer’s blog, I’ve been trying to incorporate some of his teaching styles in my own classroom.  Sometimes he posts a picture and simply writes, “What Can You Do With This?

For the longest time, I’ve been trying to do the same.  Come across something Social Studies related…take a picture…share it with my kids.   In the past year, this has happened twice.  I’m not proud of this number.  I know there is more stuff out in the “real world” that I can share in my Social Studies classroom.

What I do know is that I come across “math stuff” more than “social studies stuff.”

So, here’s a bit of math fun I found…

TD BankMy homeroom students participated in “Pennies for Patients.”  In order to raise money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society homerooms collected change for two weeks.  Some kids even threw some green as well.  At the end of the two weeks, I took my bucket to the local TD Bank and threw the money in the free coin counting machine.  After some buzzes and whistles, the machine gave me a receipt with the breakdown of coins.  (I was a little disappointed that no one brought in a shiney 50 cent piece or a Sacagawea dollar)

So, in true Dan Meyer fashion, what can you do with this?

Author: GraKneeToe

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Leave a Reply

